40th Annual Volunteer Spirit Awards Breakfast Benefit: April 3, 2020

Volunteer New York! Invites you to the 39th Annual Volunteer Spirit Awards Presented By Regeneron on Friday, April 5, 2019 in Tarrytown, New York
Thank you to all who joined us for #volspirit19



In The News




2019 Volunteer Spirit Award Winners


Education & Literacy Award

Bud Kroll

Yonkers Partners In Education

Presented by Ranger Ready Repellents


Going Green Award

Filippine Hoogland


Presented by Con Edison


Quality of Life Award

Barbara Jenkel

Northern Westchester Hospital

Presented by the Westchester Community Foundation


Transformation Award

Angela Chan


Presented by WMCHealth


Social Advocacy Award

John McQuade

Housing Action Council

Presented by PCSB Bank


Youth Leadership Award

Chantal Loaiza


Presented by PKF O'Connor Davies, LLP


Legacy Award Winner

Albert D. (Doug) Rogers,

New York Life


2019 Event Sponsors


Con Edison


The Gallin Family

Lifestyle Westchester

New York Life



PKF O'Connor Davies, LLP

Ranger Ready Repellents


SL Green Realty Corp.

Mark and Jody Rollins

McKool Smith

Sterling National Bank

Webster Bank

Westchester Community Foundation

White Plains Hospital and Burke Rehabilitation Hospital


With thanks to ongoing support from 2018-2019 Corporate Champions




2019 Volunteer New York! Legacy Award Winner

Albert D. (Doug) Rogers is Corporate Vice President at New York Life and has been with the company for over 26 years. He began his career as a customer service associate and continued to rise through the ranks using his practical problem-solving skills. Today, Doug manages day-to-day business operations for internal and external providers of corporate services at the New York City, Westchester, Clinton, New Jersey and Jersey City campuses.
Doug is also a graduate of the 2009 Class of Leadership Westchester. Immediately upon graduation Doug joined the Board of Volunteer New York!, and shortly after was elected to lead the organization as board chair with his calm, consistent and caring support of our mission and our people. In 2012, Doug was honored as the Leadership Westchester Alumnus of the Year for achievements based on his belief in the transformative power of volunteerism.
For over 17 years, Doug's personal experiences have also driven his volunteer efforts with the First Baptist Church of South Orange and he was ordained as a Deacon in 2004. As a volunteer leader, Doug is involved in the church's SHARE (Self-Help and Resources Exchange) program whereby individuals volunteer their time in exchange for healthy affordable food. He has served as a quiet role model to many and is an inspiration to us all. 
We thank all who will join Volunteer New York! in honoring Doug on Friday, April 5, 2019.


Benefit Committee


Susan Kushner, Co-Chair

Robert Cordero, Co-Chair

Gayle Binney

Celia R. Brown

Betty Cotton

Janine Daughtry

Angela Derecas Taylor

Dorothy Cuhna

Linda Kelly Fauci

Norman H. Fulton

Jeanette Gisbert

Jean Glassman

Irwin Goldberg

Hon. Tim Idoni

Bob Knight

Marjorie Lang

Dr. Tyrha M. Lindsey-Warren

Matthew G. McCrosson

William M. Mooney Jr.

Wendy Nadel

Pasquale Palumbo

Markham F. Rollins III

David Severance

Geri Shapiro

Joanna Straub




Board of Directors

Michael Grossman, Chair

Valerie Mason Cunningham, Vice Chair

Joseph L. Ali, Vice Chair

Joanne Taylor, Treasurer

Ally Gallin, Secretary

Erica R. Aisner

Traci Bauer

Celia R. Brown

Jessie Cruz

Julia Emrick

Jay T. Glassman

Jill Gottlieb

Jonathan Hotz

Joanne Kirkpatrick

Susan Kushner

Alissa Kosowsky

Grant Mitchell, M.D.

Joel Mitchell

Cindy Ostrager

Robert Pisano, Jr.

Jared R. Rice, Esq.

Steven Sonet, Esq.

Felix Tapia

Marissa Weidner

Michael Welling



Abbe P. Stein, Esq., Ex Officio

Markham F. Rollins, III, Strategic Advisor

Marjorie Lang, Strategic Advisor


2019 Steering Committee

Joanne Kirkpatrick, Chair

Ally Gallin

Jean Glassman

Kourtney Ketterhagen

Susan Kushner

Abbe P. Stein, Esq.